Launch guide

The Blood of Dawnwalker PC System Requirements & Launch Fixes

Blood of Dawnwalker PC requirements and Hotfix 1.0.5 shader stutter improvements, plus earlier saving, controller FPS and display-mode troubleshooting.

Coen explores Vale Sangora in The Blood of Dawnwalker gameplay artwork
Official Everything You Need to Know artwork.

Short answer

The final PC specifications cover four targets: 1080p/30 FPS Low, 1080p/60 FPS Medium, 1440p/60 FPS High, and 4K/60 FPS Ultra. All require 16 GB RAM and 60 GB SSD space; VRAM rises from 6 GB to 12 GB. The official chart recommends enabling DLSS, FSR, or XeSS for these targets.

Key facts

  • Hotfix 1.0.5 on Steam improves shader compilation and may reduce stutter
  • Hotfix 1.0.4 addresses saving and stability; GameInput FPS fix is Steam only
  • Low minimum: 1080p at 30 FPS, 6 GB VRAM
  • Medium: 1080p at 60 FPS, 8 GB VRAM
  • High recommended: 1440p at 60 FPS, 8 GB VRAM
  • Ultra: 2160p at 60 FPS, 12 GB VRAM
  • Every tier: 16 GB RAM, 60 GB SSD, Windows 10 or later, DirectX 12
  • Official targets recommend DLSS / FSR / XeSS enabled
  • PC Hotfix 1.0.3 adds DualSense support on Steam and GOG
  • Hotfix 1.0.2 quest fixes cover PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X|S

Hotfix 1.0.5: shader compilation and stutter

The September 10 Steam announcement says Hotfix 1.0.5 improves the shader compilation pipeline. Rebel Wolves says this can resolve stuttering for some players; it does not promise a fix for every performance problem.

Update before comparing performance, then repeat the same route with unchanged resolution, preset and upscaling settings. If stutter remains, record your installed build and where it happens. The earlier town-performance observations below predate this patch.

Hotfix 1.0.4: saving, controller FPS drops and FSR VSync

Rebel Wolves announced Hotfix 1.0.4 on September 9 for PC, PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. It addresses stability, a saving blocker and several quest blockers. On Steam, connecting a controller with outdated GameInput should no longer reduce FPS. The FSR Frame Generation VSync fix is PC only.

Check your installed version before comparing symptoms. Keep a manual save before retrying a stuck objective, then test that specific interaction. A patch addressing a blocker does not mean that every damaged save or unrelated crash has been repaired.

SymptomScope or change
Unable to saveSaving blocker fixed across announced platforms
FPS drops when connecting a controllerSteam only: outdated GameInput case
FSR Frame Generation with VSyncPC only: VSync correction
Deep Down / On the RunCave trap and infinite loading fixes
Hive and Seek / The Heart Wants What It WantsQuest progression fixes

Final PC requirements: four resolution and preset targets

Rebel Wolves published the final system requirements on September 2. The chart adds Medium and Ultra profiles alongside the minimum Low and recommended High profiles. Match the complete CPU, GPU, and memory profile to the resolution and preset you want.

All four profiles require 16 GB RAM, 60 GB of SSD storage, Windows 10 or later, and DirectX 12. The chart recommends enabling DLSS, FSR, or XeSS; it does not label these as native-resolution benchmarks or specify an upscaler quality mode.

Target / presetCPU optionsGPU optionsVRAM
1080p · 30 FPS · Low (minimum)Intel Core i5-11400F / AMD Ryzen 7 2700XNVIDIA GTX 1060 / Radeon RX 5806 GB or more
1080p · 60 FPS · MediumIntel Core i7-11700K / AMD Ryzen 7 5700XNVIDIA RTX 2060 SUPER / GTX 1070 Ti / Radeon RX 5700 / Intel Arc A7508 GB or more
1440p · 60 FPS · High (recommended)Intel Core i7-11700K / AMD Ryzen 7 5700XNVIDIA RTX 4060 / Radeon RX 7600 XT / Intel Arc B5808 GB or more
2160p · 60 FPS · UltraIntel Core i7-12700K / AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3DNVIDIA RTX 4070 Ti / Radeon RX 907012 GB or more

Hotfix 1.0.3 adds DualSense support on PC

The September 4 Steam announcement says Hotfix 1.0.3 is rolling out on PC and adds DualSense support on Steam. Rebel Wolves' post in the official Dawnwalker subreddit clarifies that the same support is live on Steam and GOG.

The notes do not say whether this includes adaptive triggers, haptics, wireless mode, PlayStation button prompts, or a remapping menu. Treat those features as unconfirmed unless a later official note names them.

StoreOfficially confirmed change
SteamDualSense support added in PC Hotfix 1.0.3
GOGRebel Wolves says the same DualSense-support hotfix is live
Other controller featuresNot specified in the 1.0.3 changelog
Practical note: DualSense support is confirmed; specific haptics, trigger, wireless, prompt, and remapping behavior is not described in the official notes.

Hotfix 1.0.2 quest fixes also reached consoles

The Steam announcement on September 3 covered the PC rollout. The official game website’s September 4 notice confirms Hotfix 1.0.2 on PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S. It lists three quest fixes, with controller dead-zone and sprint-input adjustments specifically marked PC only.

Confirm the installed version and restart Steam if the update is not visible. Save-file state can affect quest behavior, so use the current objective and dialogue state in your own game when a patched interaction still does not match the summary below.

AreaHotfix change
Farkas interactionCoen can speak to Farkas after the nearby NPCs have been killed
Tutorial pathingLunka should no longer become lost while leading Coen
Holy sword craftingThe Uriashi blacksmith can now craft the affected holy sword
PC controller inputController dead-zone and sprint-input behavior received adjustments
Practical note: The September 4 website notice expands the platform coverage of the earlier Steam post. DualSense support in Hotfix 1.0.3 remains a separate PC update.

Latest published workarounds for PC issues

The 1.0.4 notes address stability, GameInput-related FPS drops and FSR Frame Generation VSync. They do not explicitly retire the earlier Full Screen or shader-compilation guidance below. Treat those as symptom-specific advice from Hotfix 1.0.2, not a claim that every current PC build needs the workaround.

A BIOS update is a motherboard-level operation, not an ordinary game setting. Check your current version and use only instructions and firmware from the PC or motherboard manufacturer; do not flash an image intended for a different model.

Current issueOfficial status or action
Stutter in Windowed or Borderless modeUse Full Screen as the current temporary workaround
Crash while compiling shadersCheck whether the system BIOS is up to date and follow the hardware maker's instructions
Practical note: Match the symptom before changing settings. If it persists, record the installed version, hardware, display mode, and exact crash message for support.

Choose a target with the upscaling condition in mind

For a 1080p display, compare the Low 30 FPS and Medium 60 FPS profiles first. The recommended High profile targets 1440p at 60 FPS, while Ultra raises the target to 2160p at 60 FPS and calls for a stronger CPU and 12 GB of VRAM. These are the developer’s published targets, rather than measurements of your individual system.

The chart’s DLSS / FSR / XeSS recommendation matters when comparing footage or benchmarks. Match the resolution, preset, upscaler, and game version before drawing conclusions about a GPU. The chart alone does not establish frame-generation requirements or a locked frame rate in every scene.

Check the memory fitted to your specific graphics card. A model name alone is insufficient when that family includes cards with different VRAM capacities; the minimum profile still requires at least 6 GB.

Why lowering resolution may not fix town stutter

Daniel Owen's September 7 PC performance test found CPU limits in populated town scenes on a Ryzen 5 5600X and RTX 3060 system. Lowering the graphics preset and using aggressive DLSS upscaling did not remove the uneven frame times. His separate Ryzen 7 9800X3D tests used an RTX 5070 and Radeon RX 9070 XT to compare presets and upscaling.

If lowering resolution barely improves performance in the same busy area, a CPU or platform limit is one possible explanation. Upscaling reduces rendering work; it cannot guarantee smooth performance when that is not the limiting factor. Compare a town route as well as quieter terrain before judging a settings change.

These are an independent reviewer's hardware-specific observations, separate from the official requirements and Full Screen workaround. The video's description does not specify a game build, so its results do not establish how a later patch will perform.

Plan more than 60 GB of free space

The listed installation requirement is 60 GB available on an SSD. Downloads may need additional temporary space while unpacking, and a day-one update can add or replace files. Keeping a buffer is safer than beginning with exactly 60 GB free.

An HDD does not meet the stated storage requirement. Install on an SSD and confirm the destination drive in Steam before starting the download.

  1. 1

    Open Windows Settings → System → About to confirm CPU and RAM.

  2. 2

    Open Task Manager → Performance → GPU to confirm the GPU model and dedicated memory.

  3. 3

    Run dxdiag to check DirectX support and driver information.

  4. 4

    Confirm the Steam library is located on an SSD with extra space for patches.

Upgrade priority

If your machine is below several requirements, upgrading one part may not be enough. A GTX 1060-class GPU paired with less than 16 GB RAM or an older unsupported CPU still misses the complete minimum profile.

Compare current-build benchmarks at the resolution and preset you actually plan to use. Match their upscaling settings to the official chart, then check stutter, frame times, and heavy scenes before spending money on a single component.

Common questions

How much storage does The Blood of Dawnwalker need?

The official requirement is 60 GB of available space on an SSD. Keep additional free space for unpacking and updates.

Does it require 16 GB RAM?

Yes. Both the minimum and recommended specifications list 16 GB RAM.

Can it run on a hard drive?

The official requirement specifically calls for SSD storage, so an HDD does not meet the published specification.

Does Hotfix 1.0.3 add DualSense support on PC?

Yes. Rebel Wolves says DualSense support is live on Steam and GOG. The short changelog does not separately promise adaptive triggers, haptics, wireless support, PlayStation prompts, or button remapping.

Is Hotfix 1.0.2 also on PS5 and Xbox?

Yes. The official September 4 notice lists PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S for the Farkas, Lunka, and Uriashi blacksmith quest fixes. Controller dead-zone and sprint-input adjustments are PC only.

What is the official workaround for Windowed or Borderless stutter?

An earlier developer workaround was to run the game in Full Screen for that display-mode issue. That may help this named display-mode problem, but it is not a guaranteed fix for every source of stutter.

What does the recommended PC specification target?

The official High recommended profile targets 1440p at 60 FPS with an i7-11700K or Ryzen 7 5700X, RTX 4060 / RX 7600 XT / Arc B580, and at least 8 GB VRAM. The chart recommends DLSS, FSR, or XeSS enabled.

What is the official 4K Ultra specification?

For 2160p at 60 FPS Ultra, the chart lists an i7-12700K or Ryzen 7 7800X3D, RTX 4070 Ti or Radeon RX 9070, at least 12 GB VRAM, 16 GB RAM, and 60 GB SSD space, with DLSS / FSR / XeSS recommended.

Why might DLSS not fix low frame rates in towns?

A CPU limit can prevent upscaling from helping much. Daniel Owen observed this on his Ryzen 5 5600X test system; it is not a diagnosis of every PC or every source of stutter.

Does Hotfix 1.0.5 fix all PC stuttering?

No universal fix is promised. The Steam notes describe shader compilation improvements that may resolve stuttering for some users. Compare the same scene and settings after updating.

Sources

  1. The Blood of Dawnwalker official game pageBandai Namco Entertainment America
  2. The Blood of Dawnwalker on SteamValve
  3. The Blood of Dawnwalker - Hotfix 1.0.2Rebel Wolves · 2026-09-03
  4. The Blood of Dawnwalker - Hotfix 1.0.3Rebel Wolves · 2026-09-04
  5. Hotfix 1.0.3 - Steam and GOG DualSense supportRebel Wolves · 2026-09-04
  6. Hotfix 1.0.2 — PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|SRebel Wolves · 2026-09-04
  7. The Blood of Dawnwalker — Final System RequirementsRebel Wolves · 2026-09-02
  8. The Blood of Dawnwalker PC Performance TestedDaniel Owen · 2026-09-07
  9. Hotfix 1.0.4: stability, saving, quest and input fixesRebel Wolves · 2026-09-09
  10. The Blood of Dawnwalker - Hotfix 1.0.5Rebel Wolves / Steam · 2026-09-10
Type two or more characters to search.
↑↓ moveEnter openEsc close